Featured Post

Budapest Metro, Your Ticket to the city treasures from 1896.

The Budapest Metro is the rapid transit system serving the Hungarian capital city of Budapest. It is the oldest electrified underground railway system on the European continent, and the second-oldest electrically operated underground railway in the world, after the City & South London Railway in London, UK. The Budapest Metro consists of four lines: M1 (Yellow Line), M2 (Red Line), M3 (Blue Line), and M4 (Green Line).

The four lines cover a total length of over 38 kilometres and serve 52 stations.

️Support our journey! Your donation will fuel our pursuit of better equipment🎬resulting in enhanced travel guides!🌍

Line M4, also known as the Green Line, was opened in 2014 and runs from Kelenföld vasútállomás to Keleti pályaudvar. It is the newest line of the Budapest Metro and serves the southern and eastern parts of the city. It also provides a direct connection to Budapest Ferenc Liszt International Airport.

Line M3, also known as the Blue Line, was opened in 1976 and runs from Újpest-Központ to Kőbánya-Kispest. It is the longest line of the Budapest Metro and serves both the city center and the suburbs, carrying around 600,000 passengers per day on average.

Line M2, also known as the Red Line, was opened in 1970 and runs from Déli pályaudvar to Örs vezér tere. It is the busiest line of the Budapest Metro and runs through the city center, carrying around 700,000 passengers per day on average.

Line M1, also known as the Millennium Underground, was opened in 1896 to commemorate the thousandth anniversary of Hungary's founding. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and connects the Vörösmarty Square and Heroes' Square.

The Budapest Metro Line 1, also known as the Millennium Underground, is the oldest line of the Budapest Metro system and one of the oldest underground railways in the world. Its construction began in 1894, and it was opened to the public on May 2, 1896, to coincide with the celebration of Hungary's thousandth anniversary.

The line was originally designed by the engineer Otto von Szekely, and it runs for 4.4 kilometres from Vörösmarty tér in the city center to Széchenyi fürdő (Szechenyi Baths) at Heroes' Square. The line has 11 stations, and the journey time is around 15 minutes.

The Millennium Underground was built using the cut-and-cover method, where a trench was excavated and the tunnel built within it before being covered over. The stations were designed in a decorative Art Nouveau style, with stained-glass windows, ceramic tiles, and wrought-iron decorations. The trains were originally powered by electricity from a third rail, which was considered revolutionary at the time.

The line was extended in 1973 with the addition of a new station at Mexikói út, and in 2000, it was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site for its historic and architectural significance.

Today, the M1 line is still in operation and is used by tourists and locals alike to visit some of Budapest's most famous landmarks, including St. Stephen's Basilica, the Hungarian State Opera House, and Heroes' Square. While the trains and stations have undergone some modernization, the original Art Nouveau architecture has been carefully preserved, making a ride on the M1 line a unique experience.

The Budapest Metro is operated by the Budapest Transport Company (BKV) and is a convenient and affordable way to travel around the city. In addition to the metro, the city also has an extensive tram and bus network.

Download a metro map from the official web page here


Here's some good info about the city's airport

Do you want to explore the city?

Then at night, you can board a Danube River Boat Sightseeing Tour

Christmas is always a great time to visit Budapest!
Check our holiday videos to get a good idea!


Subscribe at https://www.youtube.com/bestravelvideo

Follow us at  https://www.instagram.com/bestravelvideo/


Watch our shorts videos here! Subscribe and turn the bell on, to never miss new uploads! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mgQn7TId0MY&list=PLxRHhKvfPjpVgVNtvztP0R1WZBTAJeGeH